Education for Mortgage Companies and Mortgage Loan Originators
Education Requirements for Mortgage Companies
Any person who wishes to engage in any activity meeting the statutory definition of “mortgage company” or “mortgage loan originator” with respect to residential or commercial property is required to fulfill certain education requirements under NRS 645B.
Education for Initial Licensure Any applicant for an initial license as a mortgage company or loan originator must complete at least 30 hours of pre-licensure education (PE) in approved courses from the subjects set forth in NAC 645B.363.
The required pre-licensure education (PE) can be accessed through the NMLS website.
Education for Continuation of Licensing
To satisfy the requirements for continuing education (CE) provided for in NRS 645B.051 or 645B.430 , a mortgage company or mortgage loan originator must complete at least 8 hours of approved courses of continuing education during the 12 months immediately preceding the date on which the license expires. The Qualified Employee for each company office must take one hour of Nevada specific content as one of the required 8 hours.
The required continuing education (CE) coursework can be accessed through the NMLS website.
Nevada State Specific Education Requirements for Mortgage Loan Originators
Continuing Education Requirements for NMLS Mortgage Loan Originators and Qualified Employees
2021 Renewals (Due 12/31/20) for all residential mortgage loan originators (NMLS):
A total of 8 hours of CE is required for renewal. Annual CE education must include:
- 3 hours of Federal law
- 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues)
- 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
- 1 hour of an elective course
QE renewals done during 2020 for 2021 renewals require one hour of Nevada law and regulations in lieu of the elective course. Any agent may take this Nevada specific course as their elective course.
All approved courses are available from providers approved through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing Service (NMLS). The list of approved education providers is available at the NMLS Website.
Continuing Education Requirement for Non-NMLS and Commercial Mortgage Loan Originators
All Commercial and Non-NMLS mortgage loan originators are required to complete a total of 5 hours of CE for annual renewal. This education must include:
- 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
- 3 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending (may be satisfied with 3 one-hour elective mortgage lending courses)
QE renewals require one hour of Nevada Law and Regulations in lieu of one hour non-traditional mortgage lending.
All approved courses are available from providers approved through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing Service (NMLS). The list of approved education providers is available at NMLS - Current Approved Education Providers.
If you have questions about any education requirements, please contact the Division of Mortgage Lending at (702) 486-0782.