Nevada

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 30 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage landing, 18 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) and 4 hours of Nevada Law. Total number of hours is 3/3/2/18+4 hours of Nevada Law = 30

Nevada has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a Nevada comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Total number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8.

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act's "successive years" rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLOs are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator. PE education does not count toward meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?			
If I complete SAFE Act PE in 2009,	and I was licensed in 2009, 2010,	am I required to complete CE in	YES
2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014,	2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015,	2018	
2015, 2016, or 2017	2016, 2017, or 2018		
If I completed SAFE Act PE in	and I was approved for an initial	am I required to complete CE in	No
2018	license in 2018	2018	

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018. However MLOs in Nevada are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE. Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.